Perception is mind blowing

images.jpeg-1

The concept of perception blows my mind when I try to wrap my head around it. It has always baffled me as to how a group of people watching the same exact occurrence go down will each tell you different explanations as to what they perceived happened. And not one of them will be exactly the same.

Take 4 people and sit them at a card table, one facing each direction. Place a cereal box in the center of the table with each person looking at a different side.

Every single person is looking at the same box – but every person will explain differently what they see when looking at it due to their angle and line of sight.

An interesting point is that if it is in a language that they don’t understand, it’ll be harder for them to explain.

I used to think that people couldn’t change. I also believed in an eye for an eye. I used to say “I hate people,” and mean it. I also didn’t believe in God.

Every single thought above has changed for me, and significantly. Because what truly changed was my perception. I was able to reprogram my thought processes, and continue to do so every day. I leave everything I perceive to be truth as fluid so that in case new information surfaces, I am able to take it into account and make up my decision to keep or change the thought – based on that new information.

If you are willing to hear out what the others sitting at the table say as they explain what they are seeing, you just might be able to see more of the whole picture.

People can change. I am living proof of this. And if you choose to see that – it will become a reality for you.

It’s all up to you what you see. You decide if you sit at the table or not. You decide which chair to sit in and you decide whether to listen to other people’s opinions of what they see or not.

If you choose not to, life will be exactly what you make it. One sided.

If you choose to hear them out, you might experience life in a whole new way.

I choose to believe that people are good. I choose to believe that people can change. I choose to believe that there is a God and that his love for us is beyond comprehension.

I now choose positivity, love, light and balance and I choose to love each and every person on this planet. But most important of all, I think, is that I choose not to judge.

What do you choose to perceive?

***Photo credit from https://mmipeace.org/post/its-all-about-perception/

 

Leave a comment